Uncategorized

Top 4 Intern tips

Last week I started my first two-week work placement at Vostron a telecoms company based in Southampton.  I am part of the Marketing/PR team and it has been great.

However, there are some aspects that should be considered while on work placement:

  • Dress a combination of casual and professional

My supervisor told me that I could dress whatever I felt comfortable in, however, I think it is important to demonstrate that you’ve put an effort in the morning. I advise you to dress a combination of casual and professional. I have been wearing formal trousers with different blouses and loafers. Sometimes, I change for a blazer when I decide to wear black jeans.

  • Be proactive

I have found myself without things to do because I’ve finished my tasks too quickly. I start doing things that add up to the work. If I have specific tasks for tomorrow I make a plan today and roughly start it. That way, I get myself prepared for the next day and don’t get “bored” without things to do.

  • Go for a walk

Working in PR/Marketing means that you stay most of the time sat down. Let’s be honest, online is where the action happens. However, go take a walk and do some stretches whenever you are free. I have an hour lunch break that allows me to go home  (10-minute walk) have lunch and come back. I don’t take the computer with me so I can rest my eyes and mind.

  • Snacks and WATER!

Just because you are not exercising doesn’t mean you don’t need to keep yourself hydrated. Always have a bottle of water next to you and bring some dry snacks such as nuts, fruit or rice cakes. Having little healthy snacks during the day will keep you full for longer and keeps your metabolism working.

 

Take this opportunity to learn. I hope your work placements are going well!

Leave a Reply

